The First of Many

Well, it is officially the time of year when pumpkin desserts begin to appear!

IMG_6129

(That totally rhymed btw)

And so today I broke the seal to the land of fall and pumpkins! I have been dying to bake some desserts, but it is such a pain when all you have to work with is a community kitchen that is far as hell away from your room…

But alas, I sucked it up, gathered my ingredients and made the long haul to the kitchen.

I was bent on making cupcakes today and decided on creating some Chocolate Pumpkin Cupcakes with a Pumpkin Cream Cheese Glaze.

Ingredients:

For the Cupcakes:

  • 1 Chocolate Cake Mix
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup canned 100% pure pumpkin
  • 1 cup water

For the Pumpkin Cream Cheese Glaze:

  • 8 oz Philadelphia 1/3 fat cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup pureed pumpkin
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 5 tbsp packed brown sugar
  • * I added 2 Splendas to make it a bit sweeter*

IMG_6113Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°. Line a cupcake tin with cupcake wrappers.

Combine cake mix, pumpkin spice and cinnamon in a large bowl. Add pumpkin puree and water, mix about 2 minutes or until creamy.

Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full and bake according to the instructions on the box, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

IMG_6117

For the frosting, combine the cream cheese, pumpkin, vanilla, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and brown sugar until smooth.

IMG_6118You can use a spatula to ice the cupcakes or pipe them which may require making more frosting.

*I used the spatula method because my frosting turned out a little on the runny side*

IMG_6119I packed all of them up when I was done with the frosting process and drove them to work. There’s no way I can have all of that pumpkiny goodness around me 😉

IMG_6127They turned out SO cute! And I would say this recipe was a good start to the many more pumpkin adventures I will be having this fall 🙂

IMG_6121Hop you guys are having an awesome start to this fall! I’m about to drink some coffee out of my brand new Kuerig in order to stay up tonight. Adios amigos,

Kaily

Hit me up!

