Gathering My Thoughts…

Firstly, let me apologize for taking a mini-hiatus over the past week. I had some personal changes occur in my life that I wasn’t quite ready for…so I decided to step away from the blog for a week and now I’m ready to come back.

As I reflected back on everything that I’ve been through in the past two years, I have realized what a strong and independent woman I have become. When I first arrived here on Okinawa, I was a young girl who had no idea how to really take care of herself and live on her own.

IMG_0011

Up until joining the Air Force, I pretty much relied on my family for support and essentially needed them to function. I’m not saying that I don’t need them anymore, but I’m no longer crippled by the fact that I can’t go home and see them whenever I want to. Thank goodness for Skype!

Growing up has been a hard journey for me, as I’m sure it is for everyone. I am thankful for this adventure though because I would have never found my love for fitness and food otherwise.

I just want to share some of the highlights of the past 2 years with you that I feel were important events in my life. They have helped shape me and make me into who I am at this moment.

I love to look back at my first attempts at food blogging…I used to have a completely different blog, but it pretty much sucked (lol).

IMG_0637

The original blog I had was devoted to desserts. This was an Ombre cake that I made. Not too pretty, but it tasted heavenly! I kept up with this project for a few months, but eventually got tired and decided to take a break from blogging.

Then, around Feb 2012, I moved to my new dorm where I actually had a full-blown kitchen. This kitchen afforded me the luxury of being able to cook all of the healthy food my heart desired!

IMG_0902

This is when I actually started up Active Duty Foodie. Take a look at my first post ever on here….

Things on the blog have definitely changed since then 😉

This past summer I turned the big 21! I even made my own birthday cake to celebrate.

IMG_2056

I think that turning 21 really marked the point where I began to grow up. I finally started to understand who I am and what I stand for. I am still trying to understand myself completely, but hey, that’s normal for a girl in her 20’s!

My family also came out to Okinawa to visit me over the past summer!

IMG_2339

We definitely had a blast. I can’t wait to see them again in just a few short months!

And during all of this time I was working my but off in the gym. I am so thankful that I learned how to weight lift, because it has truly helped me get through some rough days. Now, if I am feeling down or if I have a tough day at work, I know that an hour long trip to the gym will help to restore my high spirits. Not to mention, I actually feel pretty good about myself nowadays. I never thought that I would love a physical activity to the point that I actually feel upset with myself if I miss a workout. I used to be the super girly, musical theater star and now I am the physically fit, Air Force bad ass.

IMG_3013

Meanwhile, I have also been working my butt off in the Command Post. The Air Force has made me grow intellectually, physically, emotionally and professionally. I would not be who I am today without the military.

IMG_2638

Heck, I even put so much effort into my career that I got a meritorious promotion (SrA BTZ!).

IMG_2942

Hard work and dedication go a LONG way! Seriously!

And all of my kick ass work in the gym helped me out when I completed my first 10 K race just a month ago 🙂

IMG_0681I’m sure that once I get back to the states there will be quite a few more races in my future. I hope to have an even better grasp on fitness and healthy cooking because I won’t be as limited as I am here. (Well, that kind of also depends if I get to move into an apartment or get stuck in the dorms there with no kitchen…)

So all of that stuff pretty much leads to me here, today. 

IMG_4808

 

Still working out. Still trying to figure it out. Working on being a grown up…even though it sucks sometimes. Just living my life one day at a time.

Well, hopefully this post hasn’t dragged on for too long and now you are bored out of your mind. I just had a lot of time to think over things the past week and wanted to condense them down into one post. So…there you go.

I’m off to enjoy my last evening of freedom before working this entire weekend. BLEH. But, fear not, I will return with more posts soon!

Kaily

One thought on “Gathering My Thoughts…

  1. Pingback: Random Wrap Up | active duty foodie

Hit me up!

