Baking Galore

Some days the baker in me just wants to take over…so today I let it happen!

Of course, because I knew that there would be goodies to follow, I hit the gym first thing in the morning and did a pretty killer chest/abs workout! Once I got home, I downed my typical Muscle Milk protein shake and then started thinking about what to do for lunch.

For Christmas, my mom got me a cookbook from the Happy Herbivore (a vegan blog) and I decided I would give the “cheater pad thai” a chance. The pad thai sauce had to be the best part of the meal. It was sweet, rich nutty and I added a little sriracha to mine for an extra kick! Not to mention that it only took me like 10 minutes to make the entire meal.

Whisk these ingredients together & let sit for 5-10 mins: 1 tbsp soy sauce + 1/2 tbsp PB + 1/2 tbsp sweet red chili sauce + 1/8 tsp garlic powder + 1/8 tsp ginger (+ a dash of sriracha or hot sauce)

IMG_0511Make your soba or rice noodles according to the instructions on the package!

IMG_0503Steam some veggies in the microwave (like me) or on the stove and toss everything together.

IMG_0522Then chow down! This lunch was definitely a winner and I plan on making this more often, especially to take to work with me. It was so easy to make and I’m sure it will heat up great as leftovers, too.

After letting my food settle, I put on my baking hat (so to speak) and got to work on the Magic Lemon Bars that I found on Brucrew Life’s blog. I have always had a special place in my heat for lemon bars, but this one was a very different take on what is a seemingly traditional dessert.

IMG_0532

What you need:

1 lemon cake mix
8 Tbsp butter, softened
1 egg
1 tsp lemon juice
1 cup white chocolate chips
1 cup miniature marshmallows
1 cup shredded sweetened coconut
1 can sweetened condensed milk (14 oz.)
1/4 cup sprinkles
How to make:
  1. Combine the cake mix, butter, egg, and lemon juice until it forms a dough. Press into the bottom of a greased 9×13 pan. Layer the white chocolate chips, marshmallows, and coconut on the dough. Drizzle the sweetened condensed milk over the top. (Make sure to cover everything as much as you can.) Add sprinkles galore!
  2. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Let cool completely before cutting into 24 squares.

So yeah…that’s pretty much been my day. I’m still deciding on what to make for dinner. I may cook something else new and exciting! Or I might be lazy and microwave a vegetarian corn dog 😉

I suppose only time will tell…but until then, you know where I will be 😉

IMG_0545

Kaily

One thought on “Baking Galore

  1. Pingback: A Look in my Lunchbox | active duty foodie

Hit me up!

