A Simple Lunchtime Fiesta

Well if you all have been following along with me on this blogging journey, you probably already know that I have a soft spot for Mexican food (and cookies!). So today for my lunch I felt inspired to crank out some grilled chicken tacos with my favorite smoky black beans ever. I stumbled across the black bean recipe on Edible Perspective and have used it ever since. So while my black beans simmered away, I got started on my own chicken tacos!

What you will need:

  • 4 ounces chicken breast
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic salt
  • dash of ground pepper
  • wedge of lime or just lime juice
  • shredded lettuce, romaine or whatever you have on hand
  • 2 corn tortillas
  • salsa & diced onion if desired (duh!)

How to prepare:

1. Combine your cumin, chili powder, garlic salt and ground pepper in a small dish.

IMG_03722. Rub spice directly onto thawed chicken. Make sure to coat them evenly. You will probably have some excess spice rub left over, so don’t worry about using all of it.

IMG_03743. Place your coated chicken onto your George Foreman or grilling pan. You could even sauté them if you wanted to! Let them cook for about 5 minutes and check to see if they are done. You don’t want to keep the chicken juicy and tender.

IMG_03784. Get out your corn tortillas, toppings, and enjoy the beauty of your chicken tacos!

IMG_03926. Eat! Enjoy! And be full of healthy, but oh so tasty, fiesta foods 🙂

IMG_0382Off to run some errands. Adios amigos!

Kaily

Hit me up!

