Christmas [Cookies]

Do you know what time it is??

Christmas Cookie Time!! Yay. This is one of the only traditions that never fails in my household. My mom, my sister and I always make a ton of sugar cookies together and then decorate them.

(The decorating part is definitely not my strong point!)

But, here are the pics from my cookie creating experience this year…

IMG_3942

IMG_3943

IMG_3946

IMG_3948

IMG_3949

IMG_3951

IMG_3957

IMG_3959

IMG_3965

IMG_3964

Here is the recipe I used to make my Sugar Cookies! (Thanks Pastry Affair)

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) salted butter
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt

In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs one at a time, mixing well between each addition. Beat in the vanilla. Add the flour, baking powder, and salt, mixing until well combined.

Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for one hour to firm up the dough.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper for best cookie removal.

Roll out the dough to 1/4 inch thick and cut out the cookies using cookie cutters. If the dough gets too soft while rolling out, I suggest placing it in the freezer for a few minutes to harden up. Bake cookies for 6-8 minutes, depending on the size of the cookie. Cool completely on a cooling rack before frosting.

I followed these directions exactly and ended up with the perfect sugar cookies. I was very happy with the taste of these guys. I am not a fan of almond extract in my Christmas cookies, but I thought the vanilla flavor in this recipe was absolutely perfect. (P.S. Since my cookies weren’t huge, 6 and a half minutes was the perfect cooking time!)

IMG_3974

Well, yet another day closer to Christmas and to seeing my family and friends in L.A. So happy! Now…if only the world doesn’t end on the 21st of December I will be good to go 😛

Hit me up!

