My [Kinda] Thanksgiving

This usually wouldn’t be an issue, but I am working days and everyone I hang out with is working nights! Boo!

Luckily, my work decided to have a Thanksgiving party. (Otherwise there would have been no turkey day for this girl) I decided that I was going to make my favorite dessert ever…Prune Cake. Now, you can’t judge it from its name. I swear it is delicious and so moist you won’t believe it!

What you need:

  • 2 c sugar
  • 1 c oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 c flour
  • 1 tsp (each)- baking soda, salt, nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon, and ginger
  • 1 c buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 c quartered prunes (boiled for 1 min)

How to make:

Beat sugar, eggs and oil together.

Add all dry ingredients (i.e. flour, spices, baking soda).

Mix for a few seconds and then add the rest of the wet ingredients.

Mix until all ingredients are combined. The batter may appear somewhat runny, but that is normal!

While mixing these ingredients, boil prunes for one minute and strain. Then, add them to the batter.

Pour the batter into a bundt pan and bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.

Remove cake from the oven once it is done cooking.

Now, because this is an awesome bundt cake, you know it has to have a glaze!

To make the glaze:

  • 1/2 c melted butter
  • 1 c sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk

Add butter to a sauce pot and melt. Add all other ingredients and bring to a boil for one minute. Then, remove from heat.

 

You can either wait for the cake to cool and flip it out of the bundt pan to add the glaze… or just poke some holes in the cake, add the glaze and leave it in the pan.

I was running late, so I used the lazy method and left my cake in the pan.

 

I think that the longer this cake sits, the better it tastes because the glaze saturates the cake and makes it even sweeter! I let mine sit over night and then brought it to my Thanksgiving (work) feast.

 

Everybody brought something delicious! I totally had to sneak this pic and the next one so people wouldn’t think I was crazy (lol).

 

This was my plate. AMAZING! The cookies were totally the best part. #cookiemonster

Hopefully my real Thanksgiving won’t be too shabby, but I suppose I will find out on Thursday! I hope everybody else enjoys the beginning of the holiday season this week 🙂

Hit me up!

