Never Forget

As I walked up to the Professional Military Education Center yesterday morning to complete my Developmental Seminar, I noticed that the flag outside was at half mast.I started thinking about why….

I remembered it was 9/11.

It’s insane to think that 11 years have gone by. America was in such a different place then. I was in such a different place.

I was in 5th grade, in Mrs.Chin’s class. I didn’t fully understand the spectrum of what happened that day until yesterday.

During a break in the seminar, one of the Senior Master Sergeant advisors got up to speak about what 9/11 meant to him. He commended everyone in the audience for joining the Armed Forces during a time of war. He spoke about how no matter how rough we feel that we have it, we have to remember those that have lost their lives in desert fighting for the freedom of America. He was incredibly passionate and I seriously thought I might cry. (But let’s face it, you can’t do that in a room with a bunch of military guys!)

The military has always and will always be a soft spot for me. During my hard times and during my most proud moments in the military, I always think back to my father. He was in the Marine Corps for 23 years. He is my inspiration to get through the long and sometimes frustrating days here.

My dad

I know that I don’t thank him nearly enough for his service to our country. If it wasn’t for him, I probably would not be sitting here in Japan, in the Air Force and writing this blog. So, if you see a service member today, or any day, rake the time to thank them. The military makes so many sacrifices in order for that the average American to enjoy freedom.

My family and I at BMT graduation

Well that was military talk for the day. These seminars make you so excited to be in the military. It has refreshed my will to be here and hopefully it will keep me motivated until I get to go home in December. YAY.

So I will leave it off on that note. Hopefully everyone has an awesome hump day. The weekend is on its way!

Hit me up!

