Cheesin’ it up!

So here is the cheesecake that was promised. It took a couple of days for me to transfer the pics and have enough mental strength to type up the recipe, but here it is.

Now before I get to the actual recipe in itself, let’s talk about how my exhaustion level is through the roof this week. As in, I got home from work at 6pm and just went to lay on my bed and ended up passing out in my full uniform (including combat boots)… Today was a similar case, however I had the mindset to at least change into some comfy sweatpants before knocking out for a few hours. My body is seriously rejecting days right now. This is essentially why I have not posted in the past couple days :/

So back to the real reason that I know you are all here for…CHEESECAKE!

What you need for the crust:
1/4 lb lightly salted butter
2 cups finely ground cookie crumbs or nuts (or combo of both)
1/4 c sugar
1 tsp of flavoring (optional)
Grate cookies or nuts of your choice into fine crumbs. (I used vanilla wafers..yum)
Melt butter over very low heat.
 Combine butter with crumbs/nuts and sugar in food processor until thoroughly blended, or stir and mash together with a fork in a bowl.
Press small amounts of crust mix bit by bit all the way up the sides of an ungreased 10″ springform pan, and then press over the bottom of the pan.
What you need for the batter:
2 lbs (4 8-oz packages) cream cheese
1 1/2 c sugar
1 1/2 tbsp flavoring, liqueur, or juice
pinch of salt
4 large eggs
(Preheat oven to 300) In a mixer whip cream cheese on highest speed for 5 min, then add sugar and whip for 2 min more.
Add flavoring and salt and blend together thoroughly. (Amaretto was my choice of flavoring.)
Add eggs, one at a time, keeping the mixer on the lowest speed in order to prevent too much air from destroying the proper consistency of the batter. (mix just until each egg has been incorporated into the batter.)
Pour batter into crust.
Put a pan of water in the lower third of the oven.  Put the cheesecake above the pan of water in the lower half of the oven and bake for 1 hour.
 Remove from oven and let cool for 15 minutes. Then, place in fridge and let cool up to 6 hours.
And then you have delicious, yummy, and oh-so-delectable cheesecake on your hands.
I baked mine for like 65 minutes, but as this was my first attempt to make cheesecake ever, it was still kind of liquidy in the middle. So, when I went to take a beautiful picture of just a slice it made a big mess. But looking on the bright side, it tastes amazingly amazing (lol).
All of the guys in my dorm were knocking on my door and begging for a piece. Once the starving dogs men were fed, I left it at my work to finish being devoured. I let myself have a tiny slice to taste it and just divulged in another mini piece.
SOOO worth it!
Well, it is gym time for me as I have skipped out on the past two days due to exhaustion. No more excuses for me. I have to go hard on chest and shoulders today!
Hit me up!

