Chocolate Cravings No More!

Ok, so you remember those awesome Chocolate Cupcakes I made for my work BBQ…

Here is the recipe!

For the cupcakes:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup boiling water

To make:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Begin boiling water.

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl.

Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of mixer 2 minutes.

Stir in the boiling water. Do not panic if the batter looks thin, that is how it is supposed to be.

Line cupcake tins or two 9″ round cake pans and pour in batter. If making cupcakes, bake for 22-25 minutes. If making a cake, bake for 30-35 minutes. Let cakes cool completely before frosting.

For the frosting:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine
  • 2/3 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

To make:

Melt your butter. Stir in cocoa powder.

Alternate adding powdered sugar and milk. Beat until the consistency is as desired.

This was pretty much the way my frosting looked when I was done beating it. Then, I went to decorating!

yummy!

Alright, I can’t let this whole post be unhealthy. So here were my healthier eats for today.

Breakfast.

Oats in a Jar

Let me just tell you that this is officially my new favorite breakfast. Honestly, I am in love. Last night I combined 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup greek yogurt, 1/3 cup water, 1/3 cup strawberries and the last bit of peanut butter in the jar together. I let it sit overnight and it created the best and most delicious concoction ever! I swear and it was all for 265 calories. I’m going to be making this breakfast a lot more often. I guess it just gives me another excuse to eat more peanut butter 😉

Morning Snack.

Whole Wheat English Muffin

Egg Whites

I microwaved the egg whites at work and spread half of a baby bell laughing cow cheese wedge on the english muffin to make a breakfast sandwich. Super  easy and totally delish!

Lunch.

Chicken Fajitas!

I busted out the George Foreman for the chicken and cooked the peppers and onions in my skillet. Squeezed some lime juice on them and added some frozen corn and fresh tomatoes. Oh, and we can’t forget the cilantro!

Afternoon Snack.

The BBQ at work was over and they brought a bunch of food back so I ate some of the salad that one of my co-workers made. It had a balsamic dressing with mandarin oranges, spinach, boiled eggs and some kind of cheese in it I think. It was awesome but I didn’t get to snap a picture.

I did some cardio at the gym right after I got off work. I watched South Park while on the treadmill…it was awesome.

Dinner.

Good old Subway

I got a 6″ turkey on whole wheat w/ lettuce, spinach, cucumber, onion, olives and red wine vinegar. I got one slice of provolone on it. I love Subway.

So that was my day. A long post, but I actually had time to sit down and write. It was a miracle. Hopefully there will be more time during my days where I can write on here but only time will tell!

One thought on “Chocolate Cravings No More!

  1. Pingback: Breakfast of Champions | active duty foodie

Hit me up!

