My Ever-Changing Tastebuds

I swear that my taste buds have changed since I’ve turned 20. (I will be 21 next month for those of you who care!) I feel like I am so much more open to different types of food. I suppose I can thank the military for that. You don’t really care what you eat as long as you eat.

Here is an example. Today I made a pasta salad to take to work with me. I NEVER have had pasta salad because I though it would be gross. I was wrong. It was actually delicious and very filling.

Not to mention that it looks really pretty, too!

For this pasta salad I used:

3/4 cup Rotini pasta

1/4 cup sliced carrots

1 tbsp black olives

4 grape tomatoes (sliced into halves)

1/3 cup zucchini (sliced into halves)

1/3 cup cucumber (sliced into halves)

1/2 cup yellow squash (sliced into halves)

2 tbsp Ken’s Lite Northern Italian Dressing

1 tbsp Kraft Parmesan Cheese

Basically, I steamed  the zucchini and yellow squash in my microwave and cooked my pasta on the stove. Then, mixed all of the ingredients together. I put it in my tupperware and brought it to work. Then I ate it for my lunch.

Calories: 273 Fat: 8.6g Sugar: 8.8g Protein: 10.6g

Looking back I should have probably added some chicken or shrimp, but it was a delicious vegetarian meal.

I also brought to work a turkey wrap with baby bell cheese….

an orange and some greek yogurt…

and some pretzels and hummus/baba ghannouge…

This is another one of those foods that I would have never touched in a million years. I don’t know why the thought of mashed up chickpeas grosses me out, but it does.

However, I think I have found my newest favorite snack. This hummus stuff is pretty awesome even if it kind of looks like baby food. This particular brand is very tangy and have a sort of roasted flavor to it. It’s very good, and it’s good for you!

I  think that it is a great thing for me to try new foods. I want to be healthy and usually that means being open to weird and different types of cuisine. And so far trying new foods has paid off in the yummy category!

Don’t you like to try new food too??

3 thoughts on “My Ever-Changing Tastebuds

  1. Hey just came across your blog! My tastes have changed too – I am eating so many things I though I would never eat before, like quinoa!

  2. Hi! I came across your blog and see that you just started blogging too 🙂
    I started mine a few days back, you might like it!
    Thanks for your service! I have a lot of family that are in the military. Some of them were even over in Japan for about 6 years!
    And yes, I love trying new flavors and foods! My newest was Kale in my juice!

  3. I read somewhere that your tastebuds change every 5 years I think. I definitely can relate. I never used to like raw tomatoes or peppers, but now I am being a little courageous and have actually enjoyed them. And as for Hummus, I think it is delicious, especially garlic hummus!

Hit me up!

