From Prawns to Pineapples

Went to the commissary yesterday. Bought a bunch of stuff.

Clearly I bought a lot of stuff. Including hummus. I hate hummus but so many other food blogs rave about it that I figured I would give it one more shot. I will be completing my taste test at some point this week.

You may also note the cake mix in the cart… I really wanted to bake something this week.

I also wanted to make it something that isn’t as bad for you. So I used the idea of a classic dump cake and created these Pineapple Blueberry Muffins.

I didn’t decide to add the blueberries until after I took the pic

What you need:

1 yellow cake mix

1 20 oz can crushed pineapple

1/3 cup (thawed) frozen blueberries

**You can use a reduced sugar cake mix and no-sugar added crushed pineapple. They just didn’t have those ingredients at the commissary**

To make:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium bowl, combine the cake mix and pineapple.

Mix together until batter is creamy and smooth.

This is when I thought that blueberries would be an awesome edition! And it was a good choice for sure.

So I thawed my blueberries in the microwave with a dash of water and then added the blueberries to the mixture.

Line your muffin tin with cupcake foils or spray with non-stick spray.

My mom got me these really cute cupcake liners!

Pour mixture into muffin tin about 2/3 of the way full.

Place in oven and bake according to the instructions on the cake mix box.

Let muffins cool and then enjoy!!

They tasted very flavorful. The texture was a pretty moist and I don’t think that they would last too long so make sure you eat them as quickly as you can! JK. Find someone to share them with!

They are only 93 calories for one muffin.

I took these to work because they were too dangerous lying around my room. I wanted to eat the whole batch.

After dropping them off, I went bowling with a co-worker and then we hit the town for some local cuisine. I don’t even know where this restaurant was on Okinawa because we just drove until we found a place that looked good and was open. It was almost 11 at night…

Anyways, we stumbled across this place called Prim Kitchen.

Their menu was ridiculous. So many choices. I want to come back and try everything. There was pizza, seafood, Okinawan food, curry and the asian hamburgers.

I went with the asian hamburger patty meal.

It came with 2 little hamburgers, rice, a soft-boiled egg, french fries and a mushroom sauce

My co-worker got a garlic prawn appetizer and seafood salad.

I tried both of these and the prawns were awesome. It did bring up some das memories of a pet crayfish (Henry) that my sister and I shared when I was in high school.

It’s all good though. I think that Henry would forgive me…hopefully!

Well that was a lot of pictures so hopefully you enjoyed looking at them all! I know that I enjoyed taking them. There will probably be less pictures in the near future because I work the next 3 nights 😦

Hopefully I will survive!!

One thought on “From Prawns to Pineapples

Hit me up!

