Clean Bean Burgers

So much delicious and clean food today. I feel awesome.

I started my day at like 5 am today. I have to work days this week (I’ve been on night shift for the past 2 months) so I’m attempting to get back on day schedule. My body is all jacked up.

At least I had an awesome mix of greek yogurt, blueberries and Go Lean Kashi cereal to start the day with!

Only 147 calories!

Then….epicness occured!!

There was a solar eclipse this morning that was visible to Japan. Unfortunately it was super cloudy so I couldn’t get a good picture. But trust me it was AMAZING.

For my morning snack, I hit up Starbucks and got a grande iced coffee with skim milk and 2 splendas.

I also made a 2 egg white scramble. I threw in some spinach and a slice of deli turkey. It is topped with Veggie Shreds.

I tried to take a nap but it failed because I couldn’t stop looking at food blogs. Story of my life.

So I ended up going to the BX and buying a George Foreman grill.

I’ve been wanting one forever and finally just bought it.

Best decision—-EVER.

I made one of my mother’s favorite meals for my lunch. Portobello mushroom sandwiches. Yum.

I just marinated the mushroom cap in some balsamic vinegar, a tsp EVOO, and some garlic salt and pepper.

Threw it on the George Foreman for 4 minutes. Then chowed down!

I added some spinach and 1/2 slice reduced fat swiss

I had a kiwi for dessert. I always forget how much I like kiwis. I wish they weren’t so tiny!!

My pre-work out snack consisted of Fire-roasted Veggie Kashi crackers, a baby-bell light swiss cheese wedge and some turkey pepperoni.

Then it was ZUMBA time. Tonight was pretty hardcore. It was the instructor’s last class. I was pretty wiped when it was over so when I got home I made some oatmeal with cocoa powder and peanut butter. (Which, of course, was delicious)

It was pretty late, but I needed to eat something more substantial for dinner and found an awesome recipe on KERF for Bean Burgers.

You will need:

1/3 cup pinto or kidney beans (I used kidney)

1 tbsp quinoa flour (or whole wheat)

any other additional veggies or spices you like!

**I minced onion, 1/2 mushroom and carrots for mine**

To make:

Add beans and your choice of flour into a small bowl.

Mash ingredients together with a fork. Then fold in any additional spices or veggies. I seasoned mine with garlic salt, chili powder and pepper.

Form mixture into a patty. Don’t be afraid to use your hands, I did! Place in skillet sprayed with non-stick spray. Cook for about 4 mins on each side. It will become golden brown and not look as gross awkward as it does when it is uncooked!

Plate the patty and eat. I topped mine with the other half slice of reduced fat swiss cheese that I didn’t use earlier and some salsa. I also made a side of kale chips for some added crunch!

I wanted to eat mine on a bun but then decided I didn’t want the extra carbs 🙂

P.S. The patty alone is only 96 calories!

One more day off tomorrow and super stoked! I’m hoping for good weather so I can go to the beach.

As for my workout tomorrow…not sure yet. I will have to keep thinking about it I guess!

 

2 thoughts on “Clean Bean Burgers

  1. I def am always looking for new clean eat recipes….glad I found your blog! I’m interested in trying the bean burger! thnx for a great post – Monika

Hit me up!

