Poppy-seed Chicken Casserole

This recipe is not part of my super healthy lifestyle on most days. (Although I wish it could be!)

I absolutely adore casseroles. They remind me of home and my mother’s delicious Southern cooking.

She got me an adorable recipe box filled with her favorite home cooked recipes for Christmas.

My mom’s handwriting

Granted that my mother is now a vegan and doesn’t make very many casseroles anymore. It’s so sad.

I am going to try to keep this post short and sweet, so here is the finished product….

Yes, that is a Ritz cracker topping!

For the Poppy-seed Chicken Casserole:

1 rotisserie chicken or 2lb chicken breast

8 oz sour cream (I used fat-free)

1 can cream of chicken soup (I used low sodium & reduced fat)

1 1/2 cup Ritz cracker crumbs (I used reduced fat)

1 tbsp poppy-seeds

3/4 stick margarine (I used light butter)

To make:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Pluck chicken into tiny strips and place in casserole dish.

Mix in sour cream and cream of chicken soup.

In a separate bowl, melt your margarine or butter.

Crush your Ritz crackers into crumbs. I just beat them with my hands on the counter.

Add Ritz cracker crumbs and poppy-seeds to butter. Toss the crumbs so they are all coated.

Place crumb mixture on top of chicken mixture and bake for 30 minutes. And it’s done. This is a really simple dish.

I totally went back for seconds

And who can forget about my awesome butterscotch cookies I brought to work also?

I ate like 4 on shift last night. And the recipe made a bunch…

I wasn’t kidding!

That’s all I’ve got for today. Hopefully I will eat better tonight while I’m on shift. It should be interesting trying to eat in between wearing my gas mask and doing all kinds of crazy stuff. Wish me luck!!

Hit me up!

