Meatball Mania

I had a weird combination of food today. But it wasn’t a bad thing necessarily. I’m not saying it was very healthy either….

Please remember the fact that I got off work at 0600 this morning and woke up at 1300.

I was basically a zombie for the first portion of my day, but I had errands that needed to be accomplished. (Like pay my Japanese road tax)

To reward myself for waking up and being somewhat productive, I went to my favorite place in the world…

Coco’s Ichiban Curry House. So good. They only have these in Japan, 1 in Hawaii and 1 in L.A.

Well I got my usual, mushroom curry with chicken cutlet (lvl 2 spice).

So pretty…

And then I demolished half of it.

And now it isn’t as pretty 😉

Everyone here is pretty much obsessed with this restaurant. It seriously lives up to the hype. I usually get a half order, but today I decided that I wanted left overs to take to work this week. (It heats up as leftovers amazingly)

After stuffing myself with curry and rice, I hit the commissary to pick up the making of the casserole and cookies I’m bringing to work tomorrow night. 

All of that rice kept me full for a long time, but when I finally felt a twinge of hunger in my stomach I reached for the greek yogurt!

Always hits the spot.

I added a little cinnamon to mine today. So delicious.

I really want to try chobani, but they don’t sell it in Okinawa. It looks delicious and everyone else uses it on their blogs! It makes me so jealous.

Oh well….one day.

So after all of that craziness really boring stuff I went to the gym for legs day. I think I lifted too much weight last week while doing a hamstring exercise and had some pain throughout the week. I didn’t do anything to heavy and I skipped squats all together. It was so sad (that’s my favorite workout).

Once I came home, I grabbed a protein shake and a shower and started making some Meatballs.

I could only find lean ground beef (93% lean) at the commissary so I used that instead of ground turkey.

8 oz lean ground beef or turkey

1/3 cup onion

1/3 sun-dried tomato or roma tomato

2-3 tbsp fresh basil

1 tbsp minced garlic

1/8 cup parmesan cheese

salt and pepper to taste

chicken broth or stock

To make:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine onion, tomatoes, basil and garlic in food processor. Pulse until ingredients are chopped in tiny pieces!

I only have a blender right now!

In a bowl, combine ground beef or turkey, parmesan cheese, tomato mixture and salt and pepper. I added a little bit of italian herb mixture to the meatballs also.

Mash all ingredients together and form meatballs the size of ping-pong balls. I made 18 total. (Make sure you push them together because mine fell apart once they started cooking in the skillet.)

Spray skillet with non-stick spray and add meatballs. Cook over medium heat for approx 1-2 minutes on each side. You just want to give them a little time to brown in the pan before you finish them in the over.

Transfer meatballs to oven safe dish. Add a little chicken broth so that they don’t dry out while baking.

Cover the dish with foil and bake for 20 minutes. You can make some whole wheat or quinoa pasta to go with them while they bake. Then eat them up!

I split them in 2 servings; 9 meatballs each.

Calories: 206 Fat: 10.1g Sugar: 1.8g Protein: 25.7g

I will be teasing you all with my epic Baby’s Best Cookies tomorrow probably, but I can’t give away the recipe. It’s a family secret!

I will, however, give you a different family recipe…Poppyseed Chicken Casserole. It is so good, just maybe not for your waistline!

All that and more to come tomorrow!

Hit me up!

