Pot Stickers for Dummies

Working the weekend blows. SERIOUSLY.

I get Wednesday and Thursday off this week and have to try to have fun during the middle of the week. It’s asking for an epic failure. However, I thought I spent today being fairly productive.

I hit the beach/weird Okinawa mall thing.

Araha Beach

I got lunch at this awesome burger and cafe place. That was probably the highlight of the day! I seriously can’t tell you how much I love the food here. It is all beautiful and tastes even better than it looks.

Definitely going here again!

I swear this burger bun was dripping butter and hot from being on the grill. The burger was covered in a sweet teriyaki glaze. Not to mention the extremely thin avocado slices adding to the epicness of the taste. The fries were just as great.

After being a fatty at lunch, I totally had to hit the gym. BACK and BICEP all the way.

I am trying to do a little heavier lifting right now because I want to gain more muscle so I only did 4 sets with 8-12 reps. I upped my bicep curl weight and tried to start out with 8’s and transition to 10’s today. Usually I do 5lbs for my warm up set, then go to 8’s and then 1 set of 10’s and back to the 8’s. Today I went hard and skipped the 5lbs altogether!

Well, I was excited about it!

Once I got home it was time to start prepping my food for the weekend.

My favorite meal that I made tonight was Healthy Asian Potstickers.

Mmmm water chestnuts

You need:

3 oz shrimp pre-cooked

1/2 cup water chestnuts (drained)

1 wedge (light) baby bell swiss wedge

1/4 cup sliced carrots

4 Nasoya egg roll wrappers or wonton wrappers

1-2 tbsp soy sauce or teriyaki sauce

1 pkt truvia

1/2 tbsp cilantro

1 clove garlic (crushed)

squeeze of lemon or lime juice

To make:

Melt baby bell cheese wedge in microwave for 20 seconds. Combine all ingredients, with the exception of the egg roll wrappers, in a medium bowl.

Cut egg roll wrappers into 4 squares. Place 1 tsp of filling into center of wrapper. Use your fingertip to trace the edge of the wrapper with water. Fold in a triangle and press the edges shut.

Heat skillet over medium heat and spray with non-stick cooking spray. Place dumplings into pan. Let cook until browned on each side (1-2 minutes per side).

Add 1/8 cup water to pan and cover with lid. Steam for 1 minute. 

Remove the lid and let the rest of the water cook off. Move to serving plate and enjoy. You can top with soy sauce or teriyaki sauce if you like!

This recipe made enough for 2 servings (16 dumplings total).

So for 8 dumplings here are the nutritional facts…

Calories: 178 Fat: 1.6g Sugar: 1.6g Protein: 14.9g

I think that’s pretty darn good if you ask me! I think I will be taking these along with a salad, protein shake, orange, greek yogurt and maybe some baked tofu to work tomorrow. Very exciting…not!

I will make the final food decisions once I wake up and see if I go to the gym or not. Night shift just makes me so lazy. Hopefully I get to the gym…it will be chest, tricep and shoulder day!

Hit me up!

