Salsa and Pumpkin

I’m just kidding!

This post will not have a creepy recipe with salsa and pumpkins in it.

This post will include Zumba and Pumpkin “Powercakes”. (Yum)

Getting ready for Zumba

Today was only the third time I’ve done Zumba. It is very challenging. I danced in high school, but it wasn’t as intense and for an hour straight.

When I do Zumba, I feel like death around the 30 minute mark. Then I realize I’m only half way done. (I guess I can blame that on the relatively short cardio sessions I usually do)

I just don’t enjoy cardio as much as I used to. Before I joined the Air Force, I ran all of the time to prepare myself for Basic Training. Sometimes I would ride on the stationary bikes if my shins hurt from running so much.

I never touched a free weight until I got to Okinawa.

I don’t think I will ever be able to go back. Weight lifting is fun, challenging and somewhat empowering as a woman. I feel great about myself when I am the only female in the weight room surrounded by a bunch of military guys. I conquered my fear of weight lifting and it was so worth it!

But, back to Zumba… Definitely a good way for me to get my workout in and burn a bunch of calories. You can burn hundreds of calories just from doing salsa moves combined with jumping, lunging and kickboxing. It’s a great alternative to just running on a treadmill in my opinion.

PB makes everything better

Before I even went to Zumba, I ate a delicious bowl of quick oats with 1 and 1/2 tsp of my homemade peanut butter and some cinnamon. It gave me just enough energy and stamina to make it through the class.

Once I got out of the gym, a friend wanted to go to Hotto Motto for dinner. It’s this weird, little Japanese fast ‘food chain. They only do take out there so we brought the food to my room and watched the movie “Immortals”. (Not to shabby)

Chicken with a soft-boiled egg over rice

I know it looks weird, but trust me when I say that it is delicious! All food made in Okinawa is truly amazing.

Well after the movie ended and midnight came around I was hungry yet again. So I creeped on food blogs like I always do and found Powercakes. (Tons of gluten-free recipes by the way)

I decided to go with a simple Pumpkin Powercake.

Baking powder makes them fluffier

All you need is:

1 cup pumpkin

4-5 egg whites

1 tbsp flax

1/4 tsp cinnamon

2-3 truvia packets

splash of vanilla extract

(optional) 1 tsp baking powder

To make:

Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl.

Let mixture sit for a few minutes to thicken.

Pour batter onto pan that has been sprayed with Pam (or other non-stick spray).

Let them cook for a few minutes on each side.

Mine didn’t turn out very pretty. Oh well!

Eat! It is seriously that easy. I made three giant powercakes and ate them with some sugar-free syrup. I would probably have put peanut butter on them, but I can’t let myself get too crazy with eating nut butters!

Calories: 164 Fat: 3.2g Sugar: 8g Protein: 15.5g

I think next time I make these I will add some oats to the mixture for texture. The taste was awesome, but it definitely needed something to make them firmer.

I’m off again tomorrow which means more time to cook for me! I will need to start prepping food for my weekend shift also. Now I should probably do my homework for college…

2 thoughts on “Salsa and Pumpkin

Hit me up!

