My First Butternut

I’ve never been very interested in trying a butternut squash.

In fact, I remember the first time that I tried one (in ravioli form) I hated it. I thought it tasted horrible.

I was so wrong.

Reminds me of Fall

Since I had to work last night, I prepped this meal the night before and stored in tupperware containers. It made 2 servings for me.

Not to mention this recipe had my favorite vegetable ever in it!

Portobello Mushrooms!

So basically this meal is “Spaghetti” with Mushroom Marinara.

What you will need is:

1 butternut (spaghetti) squash

1 portobello mushroom cap

1/2 sweet onion

1/2 orange bell pepper

1-2 cloves of garlic (depends on how much you like garlic)

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 cup of your favorite marinara sauce

2 tbsp chopped basil

salt and pepper to season

To prepare the squash:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Slice squash in half and remove seeds. Place squash (cut side down) into baking dish.

Place in oven and bake for 45-55 minutes depending on how large your squash is!

Once it is finished cooking, remove from oven and let cool for at least 15 minutes. After it has cooled, use a fork to scrape the meat out the squash. It should shred easily!

To make the sauce:

Heat your skillet to a medium temperature. Add extra virgin olive oil, onion, bell pepper, garlic and a pinch of salt. Let cook for 5 minutes, then add mushroom. Wait another 5 minutes and then add the marinara sauce and basil. You can add salt and pepper (along with other seasonings if you like) now. Let sauce and veggies simmer for 15 minutes. If sauce becomes too thick, add a dash of water!

Once sauce is complete, you can plate the “spaghetti” followed by the marinara sauce. And enjoy! Or store in tupperware like me!

It was so colorful!

And this totally heated up wonderfully at work.

I also took a salad with chicken and tons of veggies. Oikos non-fat vanilla yogurt and a Pumpkin Oat Muffin. And a Chocolate Mint Protein Shake.

The first one turned out creepy…

I just got home from work and needed a snack before passing out so I tried my hand at crepes.

I was feeling adventurous even though I have no idea why after working a 12 hour shift…

Either way, I tried it out. It wasn’t too bad except for the first one.

I filled them with some of my homemade peanut butter and some strawberry jam. 

Delish!

Oh, and to answer your question, I did go to the gym yesterday. I did legs. Good times.

Well I better pass out because I have another 12 hour shift in front of me in about 10 hours and 30 minutes!

Hit me up!

