Nut Butter…Yum

Who doesn’t love nut butters?

First time they had almond butter at the commissary!

Now who doesn’t love homemade peanut butter?

Crunchy (and warm) PB

Seriously. This is the best thing ever.

I’ve been reading about people who make their own nut butters at home and I am a fanatic for crunchy peanut butter, almond butter, cashew butter, etc… And I just bought my blender like 2 weeks ago. So what better way to spend this gorgeous day than by making peanut butter!

I only made a small portion because I can eat a whole jar in one sitting if I’m not careful. Not to mention, this stuff is so good that I might just stop buying peanut butter at the store permanently and just make my own from now on. (It’s that delicious, I swear!)

So to make your own Peanut Butter you need:

1 1/2 cup dry roasted peanuts

1/8 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4-1/2 tsp kosher salt (If you used unsalted peanuts)

So first, I added about 1/2 cup peanuts just to get the blending process started. Once it began changing into delicious PB, I added the next 1/2 cup. (You can add the full 1 cup peanuts if you want it to turn out creamy) Once the peanuts were blended into a smooth texture, I added the last 1/2 cup peanuts along with the vanilla and cinnamon. I blended until it was pretty smooth, but still had a nice chunky texture.

Then, the orgasm in my mouth happened.

A banana with warm, homemade peanut butter. Nothing tops that. NOTHING.

Store in refrigerator, not in the pantry!!

So after finishing this little treat, I hit the gym. Today was chest, shoulders and triceps. I didn’t get too crazy, but it was still a decent workout.

I’m working the next 2 nights so it will be back to tupperware containers and plastic utensils for me. I’ve already started prepping my food. So far I have got a Butternut Squash “Pasta” with Portobello Marinara and some healthy Pumpkin Oat Muffins. I think I’m going to prep some veggies for a delicious salad, too.

Now the question of the day is: Will I go to the gym before work tomorrow?

Prelude to tomorrow!!

I guess we will have to wait and see what happens!

3 thoughts on “Nut Butter…Yum

  1. Pingback: My First Butternut | active duty foodie

  2. Pingback: Salsa and Pumpkin | active duty foodie

  3. Pingback: Exercise Exercise Exercise | active duty foodie

Hit me up!

