Beach, Back and Biceps

So today did end up turning into a beach/sushi day. (What a way to spend Cinco de Mayo!)

Welcome to Okinawa beaches

My eating was kind of off because we were at the beach for almost the entire afternoon. Luckily I brought a Luna bar with me to tide me over until we hit the sushi bar. It got a little melted, but still tasted yummy.

I was thinking about going out again tonight to partake in the Cinco de Mayo festivities, but decided a night in with a trip to the gym would be the more responsible route. I was actually really glad that I didn’t go drinking, because my workout was awesome tonight. Not to mention the gym was basically empty! I did Back and Bi tonight with a little cardio thrown in at the end. I did 4 sets of each exercise with about 30-45 seconds of rest in between. Each of my sets consist of 12-15 reps. I’m not a super heavy lifter, but I try to get my form as precise as possible. Tonight I did:

5 min warm up/Bike

Lat Pull Down

Cable Seated Row

One Arm Row

Seven-Seven-Seven Bicep Curls

Seated Incline Bicep Curls

One Arm Preacher Curl

Assisted Pull Ups

15 min cardio/Jog

              Apple Post Workout Shake

Yes, I know this has spinach in it. I wouldn’t have ever even touched a smoothie with spinach in it before now. It actually wasn’t that bad. I wish that this shake had turned out thicker and less frothy. The actual liquid portion of the drink was super yummy though!

For the Apple Post Workout Shake:

1 apple (chopped)

1-2 cups water

1 cup fresh or frozen spinach (If frozen, you can omit the ice cubes)

1 scoop protein powder

2 tbsp flaxmeal

6-9 ice cubes

1/2-1 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg, cloves and ginger (optional)

To make:

Add all ingredients to blender and blend! Serve with additional cinnamon (and truvia) if you like.

Calories: 232 Fat: 6.8g Sugar: 15.1g Protein: 22.2g

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now. I’m seriously about to pass out! I’ve got to find the motivation to wake up and go to church in the morning. (And hopefully get a workout in at some point) This weekend is seriously flying by. It needs to slow down because next week and the week after are going to be rough at work.

Oh yeah! And I think I’m totally going to jump on the bandwagon and do the Instagram photo-a-day thing with food.

So keep your eyes open for my posts!

Hit me up!

