Me Love Wontons Long Time!

So I have to work 12 hour shifts in a dark, windowless room. Sounds fun, right? Well try planning meals for an entire 12 hour shift when you don’t even have a lunch break to go get food. Welcome to my life. I have learned to get pretty creative with my meal plans. I’ve also found that I have to eat small meals every 3 hours or so to keep myself from snacking on all of the goodies lurking in my office!

Orange, Oikos and my wonton chips!!

Today I was kind of lazy and decided I didn’t feel like spending a lot of prep time in the kitchen making food to take to work. So I came up with a few mini meals/snacks.

I started my morning off at 6pm (I’m on nights right now) with 2 delicious whole wheat Kashi waffles, 1/2 banana and 2 tbsp melted peanut butter. 

After that, I moved onto some home-made wonton chips. This is what I did with my off time before I went to work. I always prep my food before I go to sleep the night before, or in this case the morning before.

So back to the Wonton Chips.

(I made 2 kinds!)

What you need:

3 egg roll wrappers/12 wonton wrappers

cinnamon/truvia

or

italian herb mix/parmesan cheese

baking spray (Pam)

To make:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Cover a baking sheet with foil or parchment paper for easy clean up.

Cut your egg roll wrappers or wonton wrappers to the size of your choice and lay on baking sheet. Spray wrappers with Pam or baking spray of your choice.

Then, for cinnamon sugar chips add as much cinnamon as you like (It helps speed up your metabolism) and then follow it up with a packet of splenda or truvia. For an Italian flare, combine your favorite Italian herb blend (i.e. oregano, parsley, garlic powder, etc.) and sprinkle onto wrappers.

Place wrappers in oven and bake for about 8-9 minutes. My first batch came out burned because I didn’t pay enough attention to them!

Half cinnamon & Italian

( For 3 eggroll wrappers) Calories: 188 Fat: 0.7g Sugar: 1.1g Protein: 7.3g

Since they were so quick to make, I just went ahead and tried again. They tasted so great that I almost ate all of the burnt very crispy ones when they came out of the oven. 

I finished out my night shift with a delicious Bluenana Protein Shake. It was basically just a variation on the Blackberry Protein Shake that I made yesterday. I put the other 1/2 of my banana in the mix with a 1/2 cup of blueberries.

So overall, today was pretty delicious and very filling! One more night shift to go and then the weekend. Wish me luck… 😉

Hit me up!