An Ode to Oats and Blackberries

Let me just start this post out with a confession…

I Love Oats!

I eat some form of oats/oatmeal every day. Sometimes they are baked into a muffin or a banana scramble, but nothing can top a traditional bowl of oatmeal. They are absolutely awesome for your body and taste great too. There are only 150 calories in a 1/2 cup. (and that is when it is uncooked!) And don’t forget about the 5 grams of protein and 4 grams of fiber. I had oatmeal for breakfast this morning with some cinnamon and a few chocolate chips.

Soooo good!

After I finished my delicious bowl of oats, to the commissary I went. I needed to stock up for the week and a little into next week as well. I’m pretty sure that going grocery shopping is one of my favorite activities to do ever. The only downfall is that I have been spending wayyyy too much money on food since I’ve started my attempts at clean eating. Fresh produce costs so much more than buying a bunch of frozen meals, but I know that it is better for me so I will suck it up and just spend a little more money.

So much food for one little person!

After putting away the groceries, it was gym time! Today was a legs day, so of course I did some awesome hardcore lifting. There were a couple of other girls in the weight room today, which is always awesome.I love girl power in the gym.

 (Remember I am surrounded by military men everywhere I go)

Today I did:

5 Minute Run/Warm-Up

Sissy Squats

Seated Calf Raises

Abductor/Adductor

Leg Press

Weighted Lunges

Seated Leg Curls

Leg Extensions

5 Minute Walk/Cool Down

My post workout snack: Blackberry Protein Smoothie

Totally hit the spot

1/2 cup fat-free cottage cheese

1 scoop protein powder (I used vanilla Designer Whey)

1-4 packets Truvia/Stevia

5-10 ice cubes

1/2-1 cup of water

2/3 frozen blackberries

To make:

Add all ingredients to blender and you are done! It is that easy. You just have to experiment to find what texture you like your smoothie. (More ice/frozen fruit=thicker smoothie) This shake will keep you full and help your muscles heal from an intense workout or it could be a great way to start your morning.

Calories: 219 Fat: 2.4 g Sugar: 12.4g Protein 31.3g

I found this smoothie at Dashing Dish and love it!

I actually ended up splitting mine in half and saved the rest for dessert after I went out for sushi with some friends.

California Roll

So overall, I would say that today was a pretty successful beginning on my quest for health and wellness. I work 12 hour nights shifts for the next 2 days so I will have to prep my food tonight. I will post some healthy and quick meals/snacks that you can take to work as soon as I make them!

3 thoughts on “An Ode to Oats and Blackberries

  1. Pingback: Me Love Wontons Long Time! | active duty foodie

  2. Pingback: Gathering My Thoughts… | active duty foodie

Hit me up!

